The Rise of the Digital Resume

This week we read fascinating articles about digital citizenship and the transition to “promoting” yourself online.

5 Reasons Why Your Online Presence Will Replace Your Resume in 10 years

After getting through the first sentence of this article, I immediately stopped reading and did a Google search of myself. The results of the Google search were quite positive. The first three pages included articles or results from speed skating or running or university that included my name.

I continued to read the article and something that stuck out to me was the number of social networks that they suggest you being a part of. I am apart of Facebook, and Twitter, but not have a vanity URL or LinkedIn. These are both something I should add to my list of things to do.

Forget the resumé: Online profiles the tool of young job seekers

This article was quite eye opening as to how much the digital age has changed since I was in high school. I could not believe that there was a boy in grade 9 who was blogging and tweeting. When I was in high school (only 6 years ago), no one blogged or tweeted. It is amazing to see how far digital citizenship has changed since I was in school.

As someone who is building their online profile and presence, it was inspiring to me to listen to the accounts of these high school students and how they are already thinking about how it will affect their future. In high school, many student do not worry about what they post online because they think it will not affect their future, however these students have figured out that it truly will affect their future. The future will be all online in terms of getting hired; resumes will be online and online profiles will be examined.

(Digital) Identity in a World that No Longer Forgets

For this article, I made a comment on the blog post. For convenience, I have included it below:

This article is very informative to someone relatively new to digital citizenship. As someone who has many questions about the content that should be placed online, this answered many questions. I love the “Grandma rule” and believe that students, even who are early elementary, would positively respond to this.

One part of the article that stuck with me was “we might accept that the Internet has changed our world in fundamental ways and recognize that our societal mindset around digital missteps must be adjusted in light of this new reality: perhaps, in a world where forgetting is no longer possible, we might instead work towards greater empathy and forgiveness, emphasizing the need for informed judgment rather than snap decisions.”. I believe that in a world where people’s lives are becoming digitalized, people are going to have to think about what they post online because many times they post their initial reaction to something. People are going to have to slow down and make an “informed judgement”, which is something that will have to be taught to students, even early elementary students which will have its difficulties.

screen-shot-2017-01-12-at-2-04-47-pm

Leave a Reply

