The Journey of Painting Begins…

In #ECMP355, one of the major projects is a #learning project. The project involves choosing something significant that you would like to learn and the progress will be shared online. I will share my progress on Twitter and on this blog. I have decided to learn how to paint using acrylic paint. I do not consider myself artistic and have never put any serious effort into learning artistic skills.

Why Painting?

As I was thinking about what to do for my learning project, I had many thoughts and ideas. I quickly thought back to EAES310 and the project I did for that. For that project, I taught myself (very quickly) how to draw and created this:

img_2265

I was quite proud of it, and as I was thinking about a learning project, I thought about doing something artistic. Acrylic painting is something that I have no experience in. The first thing I did was ask my boyfriend about some of the challenges of learning the skill as he paints often and can create quite exquisite pieces. He told me that I definitely could do it and he would also support me. I then took to Twitter to find if anyone had any tips or tricks. As you can see below, I had some replies, which are very useful:

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-2-54-18-pm screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-2-54-26-pm screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-2-54-33-pm

Finally, I reached out to Curtis Bourassa, who previously took #ECMP355 and also did acrylic painting for his #learningproject. So far, I have not received a response, however will keep you posted if I do!

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-22-06-pm

One of the reasons that I want to learn how to paint is because I believe that it will be relaxing. The act of creating something is very soothing to me and therefore will find it a good way to relax and de-stress.  Also, I have always wanted to attend a PaintNite, however I do not think that I would be able to keep up or be able to follow the painting with no experience.  My hope is this project will teach me some tips and tricks and I will be able to attend a PaintNite soon.

Where I Am Going From Here…

After deciding to paint, I researched what items I will need to successfully paint. I consulted the article Acrylic Painting for Beginners Step by Step. I took a trip to the Dollar Store and Michaels and picked up some acrylic paint, brushed, and canvases. While the article also mentions getting an easel, I decided that I can paint without. In researching techniques and tutorials for acrylic painting, I have found a lot. I will be focusing on landscape paintings, however will not limit myself to this.

I am very excited to begin learning to paint and the techniques that create the beautiful paintings. I will be sure to share my learning with others along the way!

Stay posted for photos, videos, posts and tweets as my painting journey begins!

 

One thought on “The Journey of Painting Begins…

  1. Pingback: My Acrylic Painting Journey | Christina Thiel

Leave a Reply

