Who is Christina Thiel According to Google?

In class, we were asked to Google ourselves. Here are the top three results that come up:

  • 3 different Christina Thiel’s on Facebook
  • A LinkedIn profile that states I am a Senior Supply Chain Analyst
  •  A doctor review that states I am psychiatrist from Galveston,Texas.

Search button on the keyboard. Toned Image.

Photo Credit: seohelp92672 Flickr via Compfight cc

I can tell you that none of these are actually me. Even on Facebook, the Christina Thiels are not me. Previously, I had changed my name on Facebook (first name, middle name) so that people could not find me, however after learning more about digital identity, I am considering changing it back, as I have nothing on there that would harm my digital identity. I would love to hear others’ comments about this!

After class, I did more Googling, and added Regina to my search. Thankfully, if you search this, the real me is the top result! The result is linked to the Faculty of Education, in an article where student success is celebrated. This was surprising and got me excited that when you Google me, this appears. It shows future employers something about my education.

For me, this really opened my eyes up to what is online in terms of my identity. In scrolling through my search results, there is my Twitter profile, running races results, and speed skating results or articles. I was pleasantly surprised at this, as I have not made a real effort into creating a digital identity. In fact, I tried to hide my identity (changing my name on Facebook) because I thought being invisible was better than being visible. My thoughts on this have changed, thanks to ECMP 355.

I used to think being invisible was much better than being visible. The fact of the matter is that we live in a digital era, and part of this means creating a positive digital identity. One of the hopes is that my Twitter will soon become a top result when you Google my name. Twitter is something that reflects who I am as a person and shows future employers that I am committed to education. I also hope that my blog will become a result within the first few pages of Google. My blog shows future employers who I am, and they can get a picture of my teaching philosophy, and sample lessons. For me, this means that I now recognize the importance of a digital identity and the need to expand my digital identity.

I found an interesting article, “Crafting Your Digital Identity: The Basics” which discussed the importance of protecting and controlling your digital identity.  The article discussed the importance of remembering that there are no “take-backs” or “undos” when it comes to a digital identity.  The article also discusses the importance of teaching students the importance of creating a digital identity.  This may involve modelling, especially in the younger grades.  Rather than having each student in a grade one class creating a profile, the class could have a class profile, or Twitter account, and discussions around what is appropriate to post and why could be developed at a young age.  This would aid the students when they are in the older grades and creating a digital identity.

Building a digital identity is crucial in today’s society. Anyone can build anyone’s digital identity. Once my picture is on the internet (which is it), anyone can “steal” it and create profiles with that picture and my name. This is why it is so important to create a positive digital identity. I hope to create a digital identity that I want, and that shows others who I am.

I will continue to create and add to my digital identity, as it is an important aspect of my life now. Being visible is better than being invisible when it comes to your digital identity.

7 thoughts on “Who is Christina Thiel According to Google?

  1. Christina,
    I also thought in the past that trying to hide my digital identity was what I needed to do. However, as you point out, we need to create positive digital identities for others to see, like future employers. You make some great points. I really like the idea of first creating a class profile or twitter account to model what a good identity looks like and what we should and shouldn’t share. In regards to your name on Facebook, I have my full name and I think it is okay as long as there are appropriate things on your page. If it is more personal and you want it that way you can consider leaving it your first and middle name.
    I enjoyed reading your post.
    – Michelle

    Like

    • Michelle,
      Creating positive digital identities is something that I am actively trying to do. I think that I will change my name back, as I have nothing to hide on there (I changed it during a time that I thought it was more important to be invisible than invisible).

      Like

  2. Pingback: DIGITAL identity | Miss Hordos

  3. The struggle is real. Sometimes it is hard for me, with the rodeo/barrel racing scene, to keep my two “identities” apart. Before, I thought I had to keep the “teacher Robbi” off the web, but now I’m beginning to realize that both sides of me need to be represented.
    Thank you for sharing that article, I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  4. I couldn’t help but chuckle when I noticed you said that your name was related to a “LinkedIn profile that states I am a Senior Supply Chain Analyst”. It’s funny how the internet takes you in such different directions than you were expecting.

    Did you find any of the other “Christina Thiel” profiles similar to yours?

    I noticed that when I simply search “Chelsea” a lot of the girls I see online have pale skin and dark hair just like I do. Other than that I do not see many similarities.

    Like

    • I did not really find a profile similar to mine, which I think is a good thing! Hopefully that when people are searching me this enables them not to get confused with another “Christina Thiel”. The internet definitely took me in a different direction than I expected. This exercise showed me the importance of building my digital identity!

      Like

Leave a Reply

